Today’s swim workout: Taper time, hotel pool

This is NOT my hotel! (It’s the Danai Hotel in Greece)

I’m traveling with work this week so I’m stuck with a short, shallow pool. But hey, a bad workman blames his tools, and it being race week it’s important to keep my feel for the water, so in I slid.

I did a 30 minute continuous swim workout, alternating lengths of swim/kick/drill for 10 minutes. I think the pool is 15m so, I started getting dizzy pretty quickly!

I made it a slightly harder, more relevant workout by not pushing off the walls.

I then did a set of 6 lengths:
1 hard + 5 easy
2 hard + 4 easy
3 hard + 3 easy, and so on. 10 seconds rest in between each.

Do the hard lengths fast but not all-out effort. Effort level to be 6/7 out of 10.

Same again, but this time I did it head-up, so I could practice my sighting a little before the race:
1 head-up + 5 easy
2 head-up + 4 easy, and so on.

I finished up with 10 mins easy continuous swim, mixing freestyle swim with plenty of sighting, fast kick, easy breaststroke and double-arm backstroke. The goal being to mix it up a little, get through 10 mins in a 15m pool without getting bored, and to stretch out my body and ease all the aches and pains.

Was a decent swim, felt good after it, if not particularly enamoured with the short pool!

If I was mid-season I would have jumped on the bike straightaway for a brick workout.

Sadly, no one was waiting for me with a cocktail when I finished:

swim workouts for traveling

2 comments

    • Coach Eamon

      Yes, it’s difficult when on the road. It’s good to train in less than perfect conditions however as come race day something is always less than ideal.

What do you think?

